Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Glasgow Day Two

We had an excellent meal last night. And a nice breakfast. Both somewhat spoiled by the raucous soundtrack (ambience, they call it). I'm sure it was Jimi Hendrix at one point...

But yes, it's been dry all day! Much more conducive to exploring. Even though neither of us is fighting fit. I discovered that the 100 bus goes right past the hotel to the Transport Museum - something the chap at reception didn't know! I've been wanting to visit this museum since it was built. And it did not disappoint. What a fabulous place! The old cars, trams, motorbikes etc were fascinating. And it's all free.

The Tall Ship moored beside it was interesting too, but too many steep steps for me to explore the whole thing.

The bus back into town to search for a pleasant lunch venue. We looked in a few, and came out if there was screeching muzak, but eventually I could walk no more, and we fell into a wee Italian place I'd been in years ago, though we both opted for fish and chips, and were happy with our choices.

But JR had been gazing out of the windows, and spotted a very ornate old building across the street, so when we finished, we went to Investigate. And yes, it was now a bar/restaurant. And the decor was really well done. The playlist was very acceptable, too - nothing screechy. And a good sound system. We had decent coffees, and would have had lunch there had we come across it first. The waitress told us the owners were looking for premises in Edinburgh.

We popped in to the Gallery of Modern Art - such a wonderful building, but some of the 'modern art' was, er.. a complete mystery. My favourite piece was a big crumpled pile of shower curtain.

For the first time in living memory, JR was not interested in looking in shops, so we came back to the hotel, armed with a couple of nice Prêt a Manger sandwiches for later.

So we have a collage of famous Glasgow sights, which have been seen many times on blip.

I might go swimming later.

Or I might not, I am SO tired...



EDIT: I did go swimming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.