Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Needles

Briefly contemplated, from under the duvet, popping to the gym this morning, but decided to give myself a whole week off, and start again, with renewed vigour, on Monday.

Camila came to collect Archie this morning - she hasn't seen him for ages as she's been busy with her parents visiting. Apparently they went to the Apple Shop - she had something to sort out - and he was a big hit there.

JR went shopping, and I visited my acupuncturist, Mr Wan. A tiny wee room, boiling hot with the heater on, and got hotter when he put a heat lamp over my knees. There was a very scary 'Acupuncture points' diagram on the wall. He set to, massaging my knees (but mostly the newer, still swollen and numb one) for a full half hour. When I say 'massaging' I actually mean 'pummelling'. He has very strong thumbs, but I didn't yelp or slap his hand away because I knew it was doing me good!

Then, before I had time to panic, he tapped needles in, six in each knee, and left me under the heat lamp for a good twenty minutes. I heard what sounded like a computer game next door, then he popped in to check on me (I'd raised the heat lamp a touch) and went away again. I was there for an hour. Next time I'll bring my earphones and listen to my audiobook. He cheerfully predicted that my knees would feel better tomorrow, and they did feel quite strong walking to the cafe.

A very good coffee this time. Mumford and Sons on the soundtrack, and the chaps are super friendly and polite, and thankfully did not say 'Enjoyenjoyenjoy' this time.

Sunshine this morning - I even sat out in the front garden in the sun for a while - spring must be round the corner. JR ate her muesli in the sun, and Archie did his wee trick of resting his head on her foot. Cute.

Check out the scary anti-pigeon spikes on the bird feeder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.