An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

A Certain Cathedral....

After rather enthusiastically having been walking about 30 miles over the past three days, much in quite challenging terrain, (hilly, muddy, frosty) it was a self enforced less strenuous day today. The miserable cold wet weather made that a very easy decision too.

True, I had to walk all the way into Salisbury Cathedral, raise the camera to my eye quite a few times - here my Samyang fisheye got my favourite catch of the day.

I got in early - it was quiet, just two other visitors in the whole place - plus a couple of elderly women (in their late 70's, I'd say) busy bee polishing the deeply dark wooden choir stalls. I presume that they had permission and blessings to do so and hadn't just wandered in after getting lost...  

As it's half term, there was then an influx of young children with their mums, some sort of craft activity going on, excited high pitched natter echoing about the otherwise almost empty cavernous cathedral. Quote has to be from one little girl who excitedly announced "Mum! It's even bigger than OUR house!". I don't think it was Princess Charlotte, so I would imagine that that indeed was most probably the case!

Huge thanks for the everything on yesterday's frozen expedition to Burcombe - cheers!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.