stujphoto

By stujphoto

First attempts at a Physiogram

I have been meaning to try out this technique for a while but my first rudimentary attempts were pretty disappointing. These geometrical patterns are creating by a torch with a very narrow beam swinging round above the camera intending to create spirograph style images.

The problems started when I tried to create a narrow beam of light from my torch which involved taping and black cardboard dome over the head of my torch with supposedly a small round hole at the end to create the narrow beam. Try as I may there always seemed to be some light spillage which created highlight areas. I was doing it in the garage and even late in the evening with the door firmly closed there always seemed to be some light catching the roof beams and showing unwelcome artefacts in the black areas. 

So what you have as my blip looks like a coil of wire with some nasty highlight areas. Back to the drawing board.  Now that's a thought why don't I photograph a spirograph drawing. Mind you I was never very skilled at doing these in any case as the gear wheels tended to wander about on my drawing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.