Feeding the Swans

Our granddaughters have come to stay for a couple of days and this afternoon I took them to Seafield Pond to feed the swans. The swans on this pond are quite domesticated as someone regularly feeds them so they readily approach when people wander down to the water's edge. This male swan was particularly eager for food and approached quite closely to Emma, who showed little fear of such a big powerful bird. Fortunately my other granddaughter, Justine was holding tight onto to Zoe, our Vizsla so there was little chance that the bird was going to get alarmed or startled but it certainly felt a bit up close and personal. Unfortunately I could not getter a better angle so we could have seen Emma's face as this would have placed me right alongside the swan and I don't think either of us was prepared for that encounter. Emma's comment, "What a beautiful bird" was the icing on the cake for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.