Thai

I've a meeting at Heathrow tomorrow morning, meaning that I needed to come down to London, today. Originally, I was going to travel down this evening but I've been trying to catch up with a sort of ex client of mine for a while now, so we agreed to meet for lunch today.

He was on a course at the Kensington Close Hotel and we arranged that I'd meet him there at 1pm, which I duly did. We wandered out of reception into a the chilly sunshine and started looking for somewhere to eat, almost immediately settling upon a Thai restaurant along the road.

It was an odd place for a restaurant located in the thick of the metropolis. For a start, it was pretty much deserted and remained that way for the couple of hours we were there; we didn't see anyone except the the old and slightly impatient waiter who was serving us. I'd probably have said the food was all right if it hadn't been quite so expensive - they'd got that bit of opening up shop in London right - but the final straw for me was when we asked for coffee. "It's instant" we were told.

I looked at John, John looked at me, we asked for the bill, and relocated across the street to a little coffee shop, which was delightful. I wish we'd gone there in the first place. (If you're in the area and fancy looking it up, it's called The Muffin Man.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.