Star Trek floppy discs

I've been doing some long-overdue housekeeping at my desk area at work. I found a number of things I thought lost - included something very old and cool which I will blip in a day or two.

I also found a bunch of floppy discs (disks, diskettes) with data on them. However, we had a recent computer upgrade and I did not think we had any drives left with which to read them and archive the data. Alas, we had one computer not yet upgraded that had a floppy drive, so I had one of our employees transfer everything onto a flash drive so I could then burn it to a CD for archiving. The old discs were then formatted and discarded. Nobody uses these old 1.8 MB storage devices. I remember when these were the latest in compact and portable data technology. Now, they are just anachronistic junk. Jeepers, I was trained to repair wire-core memory, tape drives, and disc platters - yikes! Now, even CDs and DVDs are becoming obsolete. Sigh.

Most of these little floppy discs were plain black but later they came in all kinds of colours. This trio reminds me of the colours of the uniforms on the original series of Star Trek.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.