Lisa's life...

By lisa24270

Always Time for Tulips

Time is my digital photography theme but I added a little floral flourish.

The fun and games goes on with my builders and there has been much discussion about kitchen brands and fitting.

We found out that Homebase can't be trusted and had to cancel the radiator order. Yesterday my confirmation said delivery within 5 days. Today I get a text saying out of stock until week commencing 28th September. SEPTEMBER! The poor customer services girl was quite lost for words when I told her why I needed a refund and a cancellation and repeating a remark I'd already made to the boys said "I could make them before then!" She made a few 'phone calls and miraculously summoned up radiators available at the end of March but that's still too long. 

Screwfix came to the rescue with something quite similar and are delivering tomorrow. 

I daren't now trust Homebase on a kitchen quote and heard a couple of horror stories about the other big DIY chain. Magnet are good but I know from experience that there's a wait. Ikea are excellent and very reasonable in price but an absolute nightmare to fit and you get no back-up unless you pay the ££££s for them to fit it too. 

I've probably settled on Howden's (with thanks to Facebook friends) especially as my lovely honest builder was very upfront about their dual quote scheme which means very often the end user gets quite ripped off if they're not very careful. 

All and any input from you guys appreciated too. This is going to be the biggest investment I've made here and it needs to be right. This is also where a partner would be useful to bounce ideas off...as long as they can deal with my penchant for purple ;) 

I've already seen some beautiful aubergine cabinets! 

Ought to be thinking about food but there's a bubble bath waiting to get rid of today's dust! At least Stella barked less today :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.