(Mad) Baking

Was the victim of displacement activities this morning. I should have been getting on with a bit of prison related work but was far more interested in trying out a recipe from Davina MaCall's book "Smart Carbs" which I'd got on loan from the library. (Rather than buying it. I may buy it if it proves to be any good).

The end product of rye and spelt flour crackers turned out OK, if a little challenging on the teeth but that was hardly surprising because true to form I hadn't got quite the right ingredients nor did I follow the instructions exactly all the time.

I thought I had spelt flour but no, that had all gone. So I substituted buckwheat flour instead (which, incidentally is a member of the rhubarb family). Then I got the quantities wrong, using 200g of buckwheat rather than 100g so I had to add salt and then more water to get the dough to come together. The tops of the crackers were brushed with eggwhite, pricked with a fork and had mixed nuts sprinkled on top. The look good, but as I said, they're a little hard, needing good teeth to break and chew.

I was sufficiently encouraged to think about trying to follow the oatcake recipe next. These smart carb snacks are moorish and replace the need for a sugary biscuit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.