Under the Dark Trees

Under the dark trees, there he stands,
there he stands; shall he not draw my eyes?
I thought I knew a little
how he compels, beyond all things, but now
he stands there in the shadows. It will be
Oh, such a daybreak, such bright morning,
when I shall wake to see him
as he is.

- "I Saw Him Standing", Ann Griffiths, trans (from Welsh) by Rowan Williams

This reminds me that the day I did this poem last time, was the day my Mum died, and I ended up reading it at her funeral - well, either I did, or someone else did, can't remember... such heart-wrenching memories.

Also, that my daughter was heavily pregnant with our gorgeous grandson; now she's even more heavily pregnant with the next one... So much has changed in the last two years.

Spent a lot of the day with blinding headache (like M last week). Went for a walk to try to clear it, and looking for someone under a tree for this blip - well, I got the dark trees, at least... cork oaks, which surround our current home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.