Cat and amaryllis

I captured this cat in a basement flat window as I crossed the New Town on the way to my Friday networking group this morning.

Towards the end of a productive day on campus (with a low meeting count - hurrah!) I received a very welcome email from an external research funding body. The bid that I submitted on 1st December was successful :-)

Mr hazelh and I had already planned to go out for a meal this evening with my colleague Bruce and his partner Elly. The news of our funding win was perfectly timed because Bruce worked with me on the proposal, and he will be heavily involved in the new project. He whooped with joy in the restaurant when I passed over the news of our win in the form of an email print-out.

The party on the neighbouring table to ours at dinner comprised an interesting set of people. They made quite an entrance - first because they made up such a large group, and second because even before they had taken their seats one of them sent an empty wine glass flying through the air. This then landed with an almighty crash under our table at my feet.

The young man who had caused the minor glassware calamity was very embarrassed. His discomfort increased dramatically when he realised who I was (although I should admit that I did not recognise him at first). He blurted out something along the lines of 'Oh no, you're Professor Hazel Hall, the most brilliant teacher who gives courses at the Scottish Graduate School of Social Science. I am so VERY sorry!' Of course, I am quite happy to suffer a random broken glass in exchange for public recognition of my academic talent in front of everyone in a packed Edinburgh restaurant on a Friday night ;-)  (It was also an interesting coincidence that earlier today I was sent a link to a video of the last session that I delivered for the Graduate School - the one that this student attended.)

With all the commotion of the broken glass and the grand revelation of my identity (ha!) it was inevitable that we would strike up a conversation or two with our fellow diners. We discovered that they were all associated with the Edinburgh Iranian Film Festival and had just come from the premiere of An ordinary citizen at the nearby Filmhouse. At the table were the producer, director and set designer. I also chatted with the PhD student about progress on his thesis.

**I'd also like to thank everyone for the lovely comments on my 1500th blip yesterday, and share in the delight of the latest news from Blipcentral**

Exercise today: morning loops on very icy pavements (on which I slipped at one point) in a dreadful time of over 30 minutes, sit-ups, weights, walking (17,409 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.