Picnic by the Lake

Another blisteringly hot day. 34c in the shade under our verandah. I note the TV weather news said Blenheim reached 29c. I often disbelievingly shake my head over their figures.
Maisie and I took a short walk around the lake at the Taylor Dam. Here under the trees we came across a family picnicking in the shade of a huge poplar. Maisie took a lively interest in their picnic food. I asked permission to photograph them and post the image on the Internet. They happily agreed. There were other folk picnicking in other shady areas around the lake and Maisie had quite a fuss made of her.
I just hope the weather cools down a little more tonight. Sleep has been elusive in this current summer heat. We have been living in this property for just over a year now and I cannot remember it being this hot last summer. We can a cooling system in the living area but the benefit does not reach the bedrooms. Electric fans do help a little.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.