Colonial House

I've been following the progress of this new shop on the Walk for some time, and I've actually photographed it on numerous occasions, but it's never made the cut for my blip. For a long time (patience was definitely needed) it said "coming soon". Now it says "Fern and Bean" (I think). I'm not wholly sure what it's going to sell, but it reminds me - from the lettering and style - of Manna House on Easter Road, so maybe that's what it's going to sell - bread, patisserie and coffee. That would be not bad. In fact, there's already been one new bread shop (the excellent Bread Share) open up just off the Foot of the Walk recently, so things are looking up on that count.

If anyone knows any better, I'd be interested to hear.

So another leithwalkshops ticked off.

Later on I went to a slighty impenetrable philosophy lecture at the Institute on citizenship and globalisation (I think) followed by a much more accessible lecture by a Lib Dem member of the House of Lords who has not only been a government minister but also has serious academic credentials. All about failures in UK / EU policy. Lovely see him and his wife here in Edinburgh. We had a fascinating formal dinner out Abden House (a bit of a trek on the bike...) with some discussion about the upcoming referendum and the deal that was unfolding as we spoke in Brussels. There were some well informed people in the group who added to my understanding of a couple of things, including the issues that were perhaps being traded below the table without actually appearing in the summit conclusions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.