On the Subject of Fossils

When another weekend dawns wet and dank and the will to live let alone blip reaches a nadir, then it's fortuitous to find what appears to be an ancient leaf fossil on the path outside.
It is an interesting conjecture that in different circumstances and conditions some thing like this wet leaf might become in some future millennium a found fossil.

On the subject of fossils, we were dining out last night celebrating the 87th birthday of a close family member just back from skiing in Switzerland.
Having never felt the urge to venture to frozen pistes and strap on a pair of skis, also knowing full well that if I did I would not remain upright for longer than 3 seconds, he has my total respect.

With balance apparently the problem, according to members of my book group, the prediction of how long one could expect to live is dependent on how long one can stand on one leg with eyes closed - life it would appear, is short for me. In fact I might be lucky to be around tomorrow, but always a trier, I am off to practise. Perhaps I could start with just one eye shut and progress from there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.