Surprise Gaylord!

Dear Diary,

We were expecting "a little rain" last night as the temperatures again rise but when Emerson and I woke this morning there was 3-4 inches of "mashed potatoes".  That's what we in the north land call this kind of snow which is thick and sticky.  In fact, the seed bowl looked very much like a Shepard's Pie when I looked out!  Gaylord had no problem digging through the potatoes to the delicious seeds below though.

It's turning over to rain now.  David was supposed to come by this afternoon to prune the apple trees but we'll see if that happens.  Shoveling was a "sticky situation".  The snow clung to the shovel and snow scoop and all I could think was, "Great snow for snowman building!"  Maybe I will try building a snow squirrel today if the rain stops!  Some pine branches would make an excellent bushy tail!

Well, I got all my errands done yesterday so I can settle back with my book and see what happens.  That's the very best part of being retired.  Nothing has to be done right now...it can wait for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.