NORTHUMBERLAND STREET, NEWCASTLE

Neil left around 10am to go home and collect his kit for rugby.  He was playing this afternoon for Winlaton Vulcans at Bishop Auckland.  I had intended staying in but I got an e mail this morning to tell me a " Click and Collect " order was ready so I got the bus to Newcastle to pick it up.  Did some other shopping as well.  Wasn't in town for long as it was bitterly cold.

My blip shot shows Northumberland Street where I went to pick up my order.   It is home to a wide range of different retailers, banks and cafes, and in terms of rental per square foot it  is the most expensive location in the UK outside London to own a shop. There are currently over 51 retailers including pubs on this street.

From the opening of the Tyne Bridge  in 1928 until the opening of the Tyne Tunnel in 1967, Northumberland Street was part of the A1 between London and Edinburgh.  It is now pedestrianised.  Looking at this photo its hard to imagine the A1 traffic using this street.  I remember the time when you would go to Newcastle on a Saturday and there would be a policeman holding up the traffic so that hoards of pedestrians could cross from one side to the other.

Steps today - 6,100

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.