Lust

The uke session on Tuesday night wasn't all bad. One of the nice people (who are in the vast majority) at the session brought along a banjolele that she had bought for herself at the weekend and let me have a strum. It was very, very heavy but sounded beautiful.

This was particularly exciting news since the music shop, which is run by a very nice man who offers a discount to people who learn with the lovely G or play in the Uke Soc, had been waiting for a supply of banjoleles to arrive for months.

This is a photo of one I had a play on this lunchtime. It is so lovely - quite small and kind of 'vintage' looking. No chance of buying it though, at £165.00 (even when the discount is taken off that) but although it felt and sounded fabulous it made me realise just how much I love my bright red uke, the one that I learned on and which is perfect for me.

And in any case, my friend Neil will be the proud owner of a banjolele any day now so I can have a strum on his. I think he has definitely got a bit of a habit going. He started with a uke. Then bought a banjo. And now the banjolele. What next, I wonder? Kazoo?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.