Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Mono Monday Challenge: Ancestors

The theme set by MrsLinda for Mono Monday is Ancestors but I thought I would take the opportunity for a bit of a selfie as well.  That's me in the middle; did you recognise me?  The couple are my Grandparents Jesse and Annie; sadly, Annie died very soon after this photo was taken so I never knew her, but Jesse, who was born in 1876, lived until I was seven years old so I have fond memories of him.  Being a Sunderland man he used to enjoy a bottle of 'Double Maxim' from the old Vaux brewery and I can still remember sitting on his knee and trying a sip of it.  Clearly I got into bad ways early as I remember really liking the taste!

Jesse's father was a Sea Captain originally from Wimborne in Dorset, and I have his Master's Certificate dated 24th March 1864 and also his chart box from his ship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.