A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday 109 :: mm109 :: ANCESTORS

MMC16 :: #22 :: Generations


The moon and the stars,
This old sun up in the sky,
We'd both recognise.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


I have been doing my family tree for many moons. I can go back to about the 1800's on my paternal side via mariners and shepherds. My maternal side not as far but via places like Jersey and even New York.


Today I was sent a copy of an old photograph of the street I now live in. It dawned on me that although it was taken about 70 years ago I could see my house and even knew the history of the shops. Forbuoys had become a Martins by the time I arrived 20 years ago. It then became a McColls before they moved to the other corner. It is now a funeral directors.


Go back 100 years it would all be fields. Any passing ancestor wouldn't recognise the area today. It's the same the world over. Apart from some natural wonder of a mountain or river much of the UK, at least, has changed over the centuries. 


One thing that is guaranteed to have remained the same and would look the same to all our ancestors would be the Sun, Moon and stars. Something we all have witnessed and shared in common. Amazing.


NB. The image is split between the 1950s on the left, including the old lady walking across the road and today on the right with the man walking the other way. I wonder if either had a shudder up their back when they crossed paths... ;o)


Update: I have added a reverse version in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.