Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

MonoMonday - Military Ancestors

When my aunt moved to a smaller home she passed on a box full of photos and other memorabilia. The box included evidence of military family connections from manoeuvres in Palistine in WW1 of my paternal grandfather and his brother, through service in Malta in the 1930s by the brother of his wife, my grandmother, and back to Palistine with Dad's service. My photo includes just a small sample.

The "George the Sixth" certificates belonged to Dad's Uncle Bill, the one stationed in Malta. They are dated 1946 and 1948, and mark his commissions as Captain and Lieutenant in the Army. The Certificate of Education was issued to another uncle, coincidentally from Aldershot near where I currently live. These people probably influenced and encouraged Dad to also sign up to join the Army; he is the handsome chap in shorts in the small photo bottom right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.