The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Gari's kitchen

I joined a few other friends this evening for a meal and a film viewing at Gari's house. G and her partner live near me, in a Victorian house, but I had never seen their kitchen before. Apparently her son designed it. Small but bright....

We watched, via YouTube, the 1950s
Richard Burton film version of Look Back in Anger, because we've been reading the play in our WEA course. The film was very different from the stage play, but still threw up more questions than it answered.

I am enjoying reading the next book on our list, Room at the Top, by John Braine. The writing is superb, but I will be relieved when the 1950s are finally over, in about six weeks' time. The latter part of the decade has been such an outpouring of angst. It reminds me of being eighteen again, and the feeling that everything was wrong, yet I was powerless to fix it all by myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.