Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

MonoMonday: Ancestors

These are my maternal grandparents, both born in Sicily.  Frank was born in 1888 and died in 1973 and Helen was born in 1897 and died in 1963.  They came to the United States separately via Ellis Island around 1910 (with their respective parents and siblings) and met and married in Rochester, New York in 1916.  My mother was born in 1918 and my uncles in 1920 and 1927.  Sadly, they are all deceased as well.  I know there has to be a better picture of them somewhere, probably in a box of old photos in my basement that I really must sort.  This is a photograph of an old faded color picture taken in 1960 (the date is on the back) in my childhood home in Los Angeles.  Despite living in the US for most of their adult lives, they spoke English with heavy accents and were more comfortable speaking Italian.  I wish I had more time with them, especially my grandmother who died when I was only 7, but I have happy memories of them.  Thanks to MrsLinda for hosting the MM challenge.

Thank you very much to everyone who has left stars and hearts on my blips while my comments have been off, they are very much appreciated!  I'll be turning them back on day after tomorrow. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.