In mid-stretch

When I got up this morning the full mood was visible to the northwest of the apartment. Bright and no cloud cover seen. My attempt to record this was blighted by the brightness giving me just a white disc. By the time the moon was low enough and the sun close enough to rising above the horizon,  clouds completely obscured the moon.

A quiet day at the clinic today; after a full and busily enjoyable day yesterday. I took a walk to Lake Pupuke. Last evening I noticed a book on the shelf; called Volcanoes of Auckland, it contains a history of the volcanic field on which Auckland is built, as well as basic vulcanology. Additionally it lists all the volcanoes in the field, visible or not.

It occurred to me that I could have a volcano project. So my walk to Pupuke was partly in response to that thought. I achieved one or two photos that might indicate aspects of the ancient volcano which resulted in this water filled crater we call Lake Pupuke. However, in confidence that with more thought and consideration of possibilities I can achieve more what I want, I decided that this photo of a black swan stretching its wings out on the lake would be today's blip.

I am very conscious of being an infrequent visitor to the journals of my Blip friends, and an even less frequenter writer of comments. It has been a hard month with S' mother being hospitalised a number of times, and our daughter C having a Meckel Diverticulum removed in urgent surgery. At the time of our planned celebration for our 50th Wedding Anniversary they were both in the hospital! Subsequently I have returned to full time work, and it has been more tiring than I expected. All is now stable (daughter and M-I-L) and I have more energy again. I have appreciated the attention and comments I have received and intend reciprocating in the next week or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.