CharlottesWorldWideWeb

By CharlotteJ

Housewife or not - no need to point it out!!

I'm working my way through a dull contract at the moment as part of a due diligence exercise (I'm not a liberty to say any more than that) in preparation for a con call back with the UK my tomorrow night.  There is the normal wording I would expect to see in such a contract, so you can imagine my surprise when I got to the section about declaring employees past employment history (to the client) and to advise on any periods of, and I quote unemployment e.g a Housewife.  Not entirely sure that is a fair or necessary role to point out in and a little discriminatory against females!! A man can be a househusband!! 

Would a man declare if he was?  Some might, and females probably would say that have taken a career break, no doubt to look after children (a question not to be asked in an interview!) to me this is a pointless clause in a contract.  You can tell I work in a male dominated industry!!  I will have my 'fun' with that statement tomorrow.  

In other news, I am now 'home' and Chris is at his last Aus time meeting today, he should be back about 8pm where we will enjoy a dinner, lovingly prepared by me, not as a housewife but as a professional girl who loves to cook dinner and then we both have con calls back with the UK at 10pm.


Fuchsia’s are one of my fave flowers.....these are at our back deck.  Weather has hit 41 degrees today but is cloudy and very windy - a bit like a convection oven!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.