Missycat

By Missycat

Mono Monday 109 Ancestors

'Ancestor  noun   a person, typically one more remote than a grandparent, from whom one is descended.'

Finding an image of or an item that belonged  to someone a generation further back than my grandparents was really quite a challenge. I also would have preferred to have done something other than photograph a photograph but in the end I could find no alternative.
I've featured here a photograph of my paternal grandfather, born in 1874 ( the small photo) and a photograph (or what remains of it) of my father's maternal grandfather (born around 1811).  It is a shame that just the fragments remain: my dad carefully mounted them on card, as you see, to preserve what's left.  He tried to research the regiment etc that his grandfather was in but wasn't successful, so if any military uniform  experts are out there...information gratefully received!
Having gone down the 'old photograph' route I couldn't resist adding, as an extra, a photograph of my father as a little boy with his two older sisters.  I'm so pleased that the family were all so keen on having their photo taken.
Thank you to Mrs Linda for hosting the MM challenge this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.