... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Cootling...

... continuing my (unplanned) series of birdlings on marbled water.
Cuter & tuftier-looking in large

I visited the cootlings on Bolingbroke Stock Pond today; both are alive and well, and the heron is still loitering around looking beautiful but menacing. They grow so quickly: these ones looked like this 2 1/2 weeks ago. They are now in full "screaming cootling" mode: they flit about shrieking and being fed non-stop. They're terribly cute.

The light was nice, and I enjoyed the different colours and patterns in the ripples and reflections on the water.

I also went to have a look at the pond on Tooting Bec Common, which I've not before visited; the first thing I saw (before even getting my camera out) was a terrapin, which was somewhat surprising. It was huge; more a terrorpin. It didn't like me, so dove underwater before I could get my camera out in the drizzle. I'll go back to snap it another time. There were also tufted ducklings (diving underwater frequently), a fairly large cootling, and geese aplenty on that pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.