Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

No swimming. Bonus.

Before Camila came to pick Archie up this morning, we sat outside in the sunshine. Archie and I both muttered to ourselves when the school kids swept past the gate on the way back from the shops, dropping litter (or else stuffing it into hedges) shouting and using language I think their doting parents would be ashamed of.

Camila was running late, as her sister was visiting, so by the time she'd collected Archie - oh no, what a pity! It's too late to go swimming. They close for a couple of hours for staff training on a Tuesday.

JR is still not quite right. Or else she's getting awfully used to breakfast in bed, reading/playing solitaire half the day, and avoiding the sub-zero temperatures outside.

I went to the supermarket, as we ran out of coffee pods!! Disaster! I don't generally do the shopping, as JR usually goes on the way home from school. But I did have fun - lots of healthy little treats mysteriously found their way into my trolley - apple strudels, Lindt Easter eggs, a 'generous and creamy clotted cream' rice pudding, some 'firm and succulent' jumbo king prawns... I may not be allowed to do the shopping again...

I went to pick Archie up in the afternoon, and we walked back through the Meadows in the evening sunshine. I spotted my friend Ken, who was working outside his garage on his motorbike. We stopped for a chat, and he's offered to take me on his bike when my knee is fixed... He was so enthusiastic that I didn't like to say that the only two times I've been on a motorbike, I was terrified. I have had a scooter on two occasions. And I fell off the second (and final) one. Gravel makes a mess of bare skin, even though I was going very slowly.

Archie had a couple of frolics with friends, oblivious of his lead, which I would normally clone out of the shot, but it's been such a success, it deserves to be there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.