Skylark ascending, again

I had to drive across Minchinhampton Common yesterday to a meeting with the council's architect.  As I passed the junction at Tom Long's Post I saw a skylark take off from the grassland close to the road, which made me very happy. Regular viewers of this blipper will know I have a penchant for these delightful singing sensations.

So today I decided to return with a camera and the sunshine which was rumoured for the afternoon. I retraced my steps from yesterday and turned right instead of left after the junction, and pulled into the small roadside parking area by the reservoir. To my delight, I could see a skylark on the ground less than twenty yards in front of the car.  I eased myself out to retrieve my camera bag from the boot.  As I set up my gear in the back of the car I saw a man striding purposefully across the wide open spaces of Minchinhampton Common.  I couldn't believe it but he was heading straight for the one spot where the skylark was crouching in the grass. I managed to get the camera out and around the car just before he passed and caught the skylark taking off with the foot of the man a few feet behind the flight.  He had no idea that the bird was there at all.

I needn't have worried.  Within a few minutes i had spotted another a little way away, then heard another singing high above me and knew that I was in for a treat.  The sun was warming, the wi d was light and I was able to spend an hour walking around the common watching several skylarks eating and flying and singing. In fact for twenty minutes i walked behind a pair of skylarks who slowly edged away towards the west knowing I was following them.

In case any one is as keen as me I've added several pictures.  But This early shot of this skylark seemed to show it preparing to display to another bird which was singing above it and coming down to land nearby.  I love the way the way they sing as they ascend and descend following a fairly strict pattern of flight.  This summer i am going to make an effort to get better shots of them both together on the ground and in flight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.