A long-tailed tit's flightpath

What a windy day. Storm 'Doris' has certainly been powerful. I heard this afternoon that our banner, (blipped two days ago) had shifted its moorings. I went there at tea-time and took it down, so that we can try to repair its fixing positions and get it back up soon. There is another on the other side of the footbridge which wasn't damaged at all being on the windward side.

Earlier in the day I went out to see if I could photograph the birds flying in the strong winds as I'd watched various birds doing aerobatics to stay in the air.

I refilled the feeders and a host of birds arrived within minutes. Dunnocks, robins, a nuthatch, two blackbirds, countless tits of several types and then the long-tailed tits swarmed about. I got the sort of picture I wanted of its splayed wings as it launched itself at the sunflower feeders from a nearby branch. 

Then a bird which I don't remember seeing before flew in from a different angle. I thought at first it was a greenfinch but it has very different markings even its yellowish colours are similar. I think it is a goldcrest. and I've added a picture of it to the 'Extra photos'.

A greater spotted woodpecker flew up to the same rhus tree but as soon as it noticed me it flew away. I had to add it to the 'Extras' as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.