Three layers on my screen print

A long day at Hot-Bed Press yesterday.  The session began with Sean talking about printing inks, their constituent parts and mixing them.  I managed  to add my labels to the prints that were going into the draw for the Hepworth Print Fair while he was still finishing off his conversation, which ended up more as a dialogue between individuals.  I stayed longer than I often do in the afternoon so that I could get the  red-layer onto the print before I needed to remove the brown tape border. (I'd cut the stencils for the blue and red shapes on Sunday.)  I want to try out a semi-transparent white layer next which will show the smoke from the barge chimney and the highlights on the barge and stone sets, so I think I need another photo stencil to do this as the cut stencils are too hard edged.  This rather distorted view of the prints was taken on the drying rack but seeing them like this (and this way up) I'm struck by how interesting these abstract shapes are in their own right.  Maybe there's another abstract to come out of this image!

Beautiful light as I walked back to the station between 4.30 and 5pm - so a choice of two images in the extra's.  The first was actually the last one taken on Oxford Road Station as I waited for my train and the second is the reflection in the Castlefield's Canal Basin as I passed on my new route back to the station.  (I had quite a few others I could have chosen too.)  Fortunately the train journey went smoothly and on time and I managed to get a seat on this extra long peak time train back to Huddersfield and then on the next one home.  There's an extra (or earlier) local train at this time, so there isn't all the waiting around in the station - and I was back home by ten to seven ( a 12 hour day in total).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.