Windswept

Beautifully frosty morning. I set out down the field with just my macro lens intending to take ice crystal shots. Big mistake. Kes and his would-be mate were flirting on the boiler-house chimney. I rushed back to the house and got my long lens but they were gone. :(

I got an amusing pic of a white duck flying with mallards and watched three buzzards wheeling against the blue. Shame they were too high for decent pics.

I went to Bishops Stortford after lunch. I got the book I wanted and by then it was the golden hour. The sun was playing beautifully on the flints of the church wall but I couldn't get into a position to capture it.

I've photographed this sculpture entitled Windswept before for an IG WHP. It's in Devoil's Lane near Jackson Square. It is the result of a community art project involving local schools for the Queen's Jubilee. Bishops Stortford is famous for its malting industry and barley is the raw material. When a field of barley is ready for harvesting it is described as 'windswept'. I love to see the wind making waves in a field of barley.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.