Coming

I like today's poem Coming by Philip Larkin https://jrbenjamin.com/2013/03/20/coming/

I like the "foreheads of houses." There are quite a few houses with foreheads round here that have brickwork on the lower storey and render above. The refrain of the song thrush does have an astonishing "fresh-peeled" quality. Love the way Larkin repeats, "It will be spring soon" just like the thrush does. As Browning said in Home Thoughts From Abroad, "That's the wise thrush; he sings each song twice over,
Lest you should think he never could recapture The first fine careless rapture!" One can't help but feel happy when one hears a thrush singing.


I was hoping to capture my thrush that sings from the top of the ash tree but it wasn't there again today. :( According to The Essex Wildlife Trust the song thrush has declined by 73% since the mid 70s.


I heard this female blackbird, a relative of the thrush, chooking softly by the garden gate when Jazzy and I came back from our walk. She didn't alarm call and fly but just sat there chooky-bubbling while I photographed her. The common blackbird, Turdus merula, is a species of true thrush. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.