Three Trees In Transit

I've photographed pics including the tree in front and featured the tree in the middle of the field in the distance. I arrived at Lodge Farm this afternoon intending to have a nice walk but the wind suddenly got up and it started to rain, so I aborted. As I hurried back to the car I noticed the three trees in my pic come into line. It reminded me of when we used to sail. Some harbours, including Brightlingsea, have leading marks that you have to line up - get in transit - in order to follow the safe channel into port. Sorry about the boring pic.

Today's poem is 25 February 1944 by Primo Levi https://audiopoetry.wordpress.com/2006/08/26/25th-february-1944/

It is short, simple and touching verse about the death of a loved one. It hardly hints at the horrors of the holocaust, too heinous for the poet to articulate. It is dedicated to Vanda Maestro who PL fell in love with Primo Levi at the Fussoli holding camp in Northern Italy. They were packed into a cattle truck with 648 other Jews and sent to Auschwitz. At the end of this day in 1944, after a gruelling journey, they spent their final night together. She went to the gas chambers and he was one of the few who survived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.