Dog Dip

I went for a walk at Panshanger Park this afternoon. It was beautifully bright, crisp and clear but the wind was like a knife. I'm in the habit of stopping at a little muddy beach by the river. In the past there have been signs asking people to keep their dogs out of the water and it has always made me sad. Dogs love to wade in for a frolic and a drink and I like to paddle in my wellies.

I was delighted to discover today that there has been a change of heart. The mud has been covered with coarse gravel retained by logs and bounded by chestnut paling and the area has been christened Dog Dip. 

I sat on a bench so high that my legs dangled and waited for a dog to come and have a dip. I photographed a coal tit, a goldcrest and a treecreeper while I waited. A fluffy little dog arrived but was too scared to go in. My pic shows a beagle cross having a paddle watched by a girl visiting from South East London.

My extra is a flurry of fluff from bulrushes, reeds and pussy willow. Snow flurries expected tomorrow. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.