The Flying Scotsman

There will, I am sure, be many much better photographs of this train today.  The choice of accessible locations reasonably close to my home is fairly limited.  However, here it is:  The Flying Scotsman on its inaugural run from London Kings Cross to York after its decade long, £4.2M refit.

The normally deserted little station where I went to take this photograph was crowded on both sides with enthusiasts and photographers this morning.  We were all there in plenty of time to choose our spots and no-one minded the cold. It was the 4 or 5 helicopters flying along the route which gave us advance notice that the train was on its way.

It was a fairly early start and a cold wait on the platform all for 5-10 seconds of activity - but I couldn't not do it, could I?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.