Gentle Giant

Sitting on the frosty ground amongst a herd of about 2 dozen stags totally alone in the quiet of the morning was amazing. Just me and them; totally surrounded. 

Having crept up to the group of stags with SueL7 who very kindly walked me round the park to where she had seen them, we both stalked/followed them around awhile but the light wasn't good and they kept on the move. However they did stop in the end and we managed some shots. Also bumped into fellow blipper 1bluebell

After Sue left, I stayed  with the herd, inched forward on my knees and sat down. A couple of the boys were clashing antlers but nothing too serious; generally they were really calm. They all saw me sitting quietly, decided I was no threat then sat down one by one till I they were all around, then decided to have a doze. What a privilege to be so very near such magnificent animals!! The deer closest to me thought it was a good idea to have a roll in the leaves not at all concerned about my camera - see the extras. It felt so good just to be amongst them and so very close almost part of the herd. A magical morning and I knew this was why I'd taken up photography.

Shooting home I then went to an old friend's for a yummy lunch. What a fantastic day in all. Well worth getting up so very early for!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.