TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Full Snow Moon

“The moon was reigning over their world, glowing its full splendor to all those willing to look up.” 
― Irina Serban
Full Circle

I had big plans this evening for photographing the Full Snow Moon and spent a good bit of the early evening driving around my locale searching for it at the time I calculated that it would be rising. 
Unfortunately for me, I was handily outsmarted and it just did not appear where and when I thought that it would. Eventually it did appear on the horizon and it was simply gorgeous. Sadly, I was unable to get a good snapshot of it on the rise; but I did manage to return outside later on to capture it shining brightly and balanced gracefully above the trees outside my home.

"Since the heaviest snow usually falls during this month, native tribes of the north and east most often called February’s full Moon the Full Snow Moon. Some tribes also referred to this Moon as the Full Hunger Moon, since harsh weather conditions in their areas made hunting very difficult."

- The Farmer's Almanac

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.