Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Last flower of winter

For FF26 today I just couldn't resist the temptation to post a last snowdrop as they surely come under the heading 'winter flowers' and we're still (just) in winter here in the UK, whatever way you calculate the first day of spring.  Thinking of which, I googled 'when does spring start?', wondering why I'd always disagreed with so many sources telling me different from what I was sure I knew.

It turns out the answer is there are two 'first days of spring'.  The one I go by - 1st March - is the meteorological first day and spring goes on till 31st May, while 20th March - 19th June is the astronomical spring season (spring solstice to midsummer).  Goodness, don't we make things complicated for ourselves!!

Anyway, sorry about that digression, when what I should really be saying is this:

I don't know how to thank you for all the lovely things you said yesterday about my 1,000th blip, all the stars and hearts and kind words and wishes.  I felt overwhelmed and would have been in danger of feeling just a little smug if I hadn't been so well aware what brilliant blips you  all post time after time.  In many ways I'm sure blip only makes sense as a joint venture and it is the overall accumulation of images and the everyday stream of support and reciprocal kindness that makes our blip lives something of a minor miracle.  No wonder we value it so much.

There, now I've gone and made myself emotional. 



Much love and have a happy evening xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.