In My World

By JoanneInOz

A Lovely Little Lady

It's been a few weeks now since I last added a photo of these backyard visitors to my journal, so I thought it might be time for an update.

Since a pair of "Australian Wood Ducks" decided that my garden has a lot to offer, including a private swimming pool to bathe in, crumbs of bread to feast on, and a quiet area to hang out with friends, (Kookaburras, Magpies and Honeyeaters), they are here most mornings, usually staying for anywhere between 2 to 4 hours.

This week I have noticed that the lovely little lady duck is becoming even more relaxed during her visits. She has taken to sitting on the pavers, tucking her beak under her wings, and having a quiet sleep. So cute!

During the rain this morning I sat inside the house on the floor, right in front of a ceiling to floor window, taking photos of the two of them. Mrs Duck saw me there, and came closer, as if to say hello.

They seem to be becoming more trusting of me with each passing day, and from what I have been reading about these ducks, they can actually become tame, if they continue to visit the same garden for a period of time.

Who knows where our relationship will progress to, given time. It gives me so much pleasure every day, as I feed the ducks and birds, and they come right up to me to help themselves to some food, trusting that no harm will come to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.