Chuff.....

I felt terribly sad when I woke up this morning. It was such a hard day yesterday, absolutely heartbreaking. I've lost both my parents, but this was the first of my peers to die and I've found that so difficult. It was only ten weeks from diagnosis to death, that's so unfair, it is so wrong, it is too sad to bear.

The sun was shining, it was a beautiful morning. It seemed unbelievable that the day seemed so normal, that everything just carries on. I decided to just fall out of bed and go for a walk, to blow the cobwebs away. It was a good move, it helped. 

Yesterday Ellen and I, the two who shy away from hugging, broke down in the church and hugged each other. She had said she was meeting her friend Sue today and she invited me along. So today we went to Ramsbottom and it was what we needed. We had a cuppa and a cake, we had a laugh, we had a mooch around.

As we were about to leave a steam train tooted its way into the station, "Come on, let's go on the bridge and stand in the steam," I said. "With my dodgy lung! Won't it be hot?" I had to laugh, "Come on," I said. Reluctantly, she followed me. But, oh my, how we laughed as the train chuffed beneath us and the black steam enveloped us. "I bet you wish you'd bought that gas mask now," Ellen chortled. Well, it would have made a cracking photo!

I had been looking at different bits of clothing that I could get to wear at the 1940s weekend. I have decided there is no way I can do classy so I will look into being a land girl...I had looked at a couple of gas masks to add to the costume. 

It was a good end to the day.

Film Star Friday was great.....you have to look at the pics. There were some great photos, I loved them all. I love the time and effort that go into them....and the hilarious anecdotes that accompany the making of them. They were all brilliant but I have to say that Mambo as Charlie Chaplin made me grin hugely!!! The next one will be in two weeks...Friday 11th March, so there is plenty of time for you to plan a pic :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.