NASSER WOLKENBRUCH

Today we have seen an extraordinary scene, that one only see once in a life-time.
It started like this: my eye fell upon an aerial photograph  at the backside of one of our maps. I show this picture as an extra photo. It shows the natural monument Nasser Wolkenbruch (Wet cloud fracture). It is situated east of Trendelburg, a pretty town where we have been quite a few times.
I felt surprised and suggested Piet Hein to go there and see for ourselves.
This monument is a crater, 14 meter deep, at the bottom there is a lake.. Originated by a sinkhole. The description is in german and it seems a bit too difficult for me right now to translate it,
We came at a parkplace and from there a steep path went up.
When we arrived at the top we had a fascinating sight of the crater, so awfully deep down was the lake, and the water was frozen.
No possible way to come close to that lake, the walls of the crater almost perpendicular, but a path on top one could easily walk around.
A stunning sight, and although I tried from different standpoints to give an idea of how this looked like, I could not succeed well in this.
When we had finished the path around, we walked down again and drove to Friedrichsfeld and from there we started our walk. First along a forest and then back over a plain, with an amazingly cold and bleak wind blowing in our faces.
I have read that a saga was connected to this place. It was here that the giantess Trendula was stricken by a thunder, because of a judgment of the gods.

My haiku:

Looking in the depth
I see the frozen water
No creature can live there

And the proverb:

When all fruit fails, welcome haws.

1791  Kelly, 350.  Spoken when we take up with what's coarse, when the good is spent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.