Vintage and Yard!

I had such a lovely day with Gilesey. I discovered before I left the house that The Vintage fair was a sell off so wasn't expecting great things - which was good because there wasn't a lot! However the lights and ceilings were damn fine and I still managed to buy a dress, a mini teapot - and I mean mini, only 13 by 6 cm in a blue and white willow pattern, but perfect for growing little Muscari bulbs in! The two small dark blue saucers with octagonal cups will  also look good planted up if I don't use them for espresso! Also damn fine were the cupcakes! Four for a fiver so I chose Gin and Tonic flavoured and a  Lemon Meringue one! ( Shame I forget to pay Gilesey my half - I now owe her a pint before camera club this week! )
With the Vintage Fair done I decided to take Gilesey to Williams yard which I felt pretty certain she would love! She was non too impressed with Plymouths' architecture - perfect place to get a Dreary Friday blip for lynnfoto though! 
Williams Yard worked it's magic - it was the major victualling depot of the Royal Navy and an important adjunct of Devonport Dockyard and is considered to be one of the most important groups of historic military buildings in Britain, it is also the largest collection of Grade 1 listed military buildings in Europe. Some buildings are yet to be redeveloped so it's a glorious mix of the converted and derelict! Loads of places to eat, couple of Art galleries and some nifty shops! After we had eaten we walked around visited a few!  I ended up buying a small metalwork tree and a aubergine coloured  wrap around jumper /cardigan/shawl - the back is the front and this  is laid across your chest, crossed at the back, then your arms pushed through the sleeves hanging by your sides - it's sort of like being swaddled as your upper arms are held in! I had to borrow Gilseys camera to see if I could raise a camera high enough in it to use! I should also mention the interiors / bathroom shop, as Gilesey  approached one of the sinks it lit up!! Now how's that for swanky! They had some rather lovely wall paper too!
Our last stop was The farmers and pet  shop in Tavistock - food for Nibbler, Morio grubs for Gunther as no locusts or crickets, and the usual corn, mash and pellets for the chickens! I had received a text whilst at the yard from a coop member asking if i could close that night - bloomin' typical! So after dropping Gilesey home it was straight to the allotment, drop the 3 bags at the gate for another member to take up in her jeep in the morning and onto the plot. Of course I was not suitably dressed - best coat, a vintage dress, luckily boots but hardly the allotment type! Plus my red lippy as you can't do a Vintage event without red lippy! No wonder the chickens didn't want to go in - they were transfixed by my appearance obviously! I got well cold! 
So all in all an eventful and very enjoyable day! All of it is here - a lot of lights strangely given the dullness of the day weatherwise, or maybe because of the dull I was drawn to the light!! Plus you may spot Gilesey !!

P.S. Discovered the dress I thought was a size 12, was actually a USA 12 and a UK 16!! I am usually an 8 or 10 so room to grow I guess! But the dress has a drapey effect and I think I read somewhere that dress sizes are not standard over the years - what was a 16 years ago is a 14 now - either because we have all got bigger ( except me of course!) or it was believed women would be more likely to buy something labelled 14 rather than 16, even though in size it was and they were  16 - if you follow me! I'll let you know once I try it on as it's been washed and is drying at the moment! 
P.P.S. You can tell when I've had a good day - I write far too much!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.