My beloved Oslo - the Government quarter

The Government quarter is still a building site after the terror 22. July 2011.
There are 9 governmental buildings here and all got damaged by the bomb that was placed in a car outside. 8 people got killed here ( and later that day the terrorist slaughtered 66 youth on Utøya, 33 of them were under 18 year old.

There has been debates about if one should restore the buildings or build new ones. It was discovered asbestos in the highest building that was most damaged and that influenced the debate. 

The plan is that a the new quarter will be ready 2023-2025 and it will be a combination of brand new building and some renovated building.  Clearing og the area and removing one (or is it two buildings?) is finished.

On the site there is a 22. July 2011-center, an information senter, exhibition and a special room dedicated to the 77 persons that died.  Beside giving the cold facts, it also give the warm fact about the warm and remarkable solidarity that happened in our country.  I have not yet visit it, the grief is still there, and I think that I need to remember the oceans of roses that covered Oslo, the lights and the warmth with out getting reminded about the terrorist and get more insight in his disturbed world.
Our slogan was: "If one man can show so much hate, just think how much love we all together can create."

Anyhow I walk here quite often since it's just a block away from my workplace, and I liked this sight I saw today :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.