Pin Well

Home early today as, at present, I'm unable to do about half my normal work due to clients' malfunctioning computer systems.

So MrM and I took Louie on a longer walk than usual, to Pin Well, aka Maiden Well or Fairy Well. In the nick of time for International Holy Well Month, thanks to there being an extra day in February this year!

Pin Well is a natural spring lying just below Kettles Hill Fort and, in various accounts, is referred to as a Holy Well, a Sacred Spring and a Fairy Well. I suspect that, long in the past, it would have been regarded as a holy well or sacred spring - and was possibly the source of water for the Iron-Age people living in the hill fort. More recently (at the end of the 18th century and into the 20th century, I think), there were May Day processions from Wooler to the well, and people, especially young ladies, dropped a crooked pin in to the well and made a wish, hoping that it would be granted by the fairy presiding over the well.

Today is significant for two reasons! It marks 3 years' blipping - my very first blip was on 1 March 2013. And it's my 'little' sister's birthday - yes, she was a Leap Year baby!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.