pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Protein in my melba toasts?

Monday comes round too quickly, and today was set to be just like any other regular day. I was even wondering what I could possibly photograph for my blip, with no plans to stray far at lunch. Then returning to my desk, with my lunch half eaten, it appeared. The subject for today's blip!

Can you spot the small, dried ex-insect in my melba toasts? No, nor did I until I sat back at my desk! I should be thankful that a chance call from an old Cambridge work colleague stopped me from eating as quickly as i normally would have done. It would have been rude to crunch celery, cucumber and melba toasts which conversing on the phone. So I returned after my lunch break with my lunch only half eaten.

So just as I slid my hand into the packet for the last but one toast, this is what I found. I think it's a dead earwig. I'm going to send it back to the shops to see what they say. I'll keep you posted!

Home at 5.30 and whilst in the throes of cooking dinner, washing up, & pottering, we had a power cut! It was absolutely pitch black. Henry had just sat down to eat his dinner & I was still cooking ours. The dogs were under our feet, along with many other obstacles, as we fumbled about for matches & candles. It lasted about half an hour, by which time we had the lounge looking quite pretty. Gently glowing tea lights and long orange flames from a Christmas candle that i stuck in a bottle, I got out of the recycling.

It was the first time it had dawned on Henry how EVERYTHING we use seems to need electricity. I will be better prepared next time!

Jon got in at 8.30 in time for a late dinner. I briefly caught up with a friend by phone who we will meet up with next weekend. Really looking forward to that. It has been a long time. Now a cup of tea and bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.