Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Start every day with a big stretch!

I had some good blip options today, but I kept coming back to this one, which told me it was "the one." This little hummer female was sitting on on of my "artfully" arranged branches on the deck, going through an elaborate preening ritual. I sat about 8 feet away with Big Daddy, snapping continuous shots. I never know what I've gotten until I upload it later on the computer where I can see it. So, this shot was a total surprise. Hummingbirds move lightening-fast, so I never actually saw her in this nanosecond that her wings were stretched. The whole preening process for a hummer takes less than 30 seconds usually, and during that time there is a lot of stuff going one. Anyway, this is NOT a flight picture - you can see that she is firmly planted on her branch - she just heard that every day should begin with a good stretch. I've posted some other shots of her in Folio if you'd care to have a peek.

She is nice in LARGE too! And by the way, an interesting hummer fact - they cannot walk because their legs are too short. They only perch or fly, never hop or walk.

My second choice of a blip today would have been a pair of what I think were cabbage white butterflies, engaged in some leisurely lovemaking. Well, that is, until I shoved my camera lens into their little butterfly faces. Rude. Very rude. The managed to fly to another leaf, without ever disengaging. Also posted a few shots on Folio of them - if any of you butterfly experts would weigh in and let me know if you think they are cabbage whites, I'd appreciate it. The one on the right fits perfectly, but the second one was very yellow, almost looking more like a sulphur.

Thank you all so much for your comments, stars, and hearts on my young woodpecker yesterday. I am so entranced with all the baby birds in our yard this year, and delighted that so many of you share my enthusiasm! Mimsy, however, is in a snit. She is now demanding organic peanuts, too. And some better nesting material.

Hey, it's FRIDAY!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.