Ta Ta

I may have jumped the gun here but I have already anticipated this week's Derelict Sunday challenge. I have assumed that it is DS20. 

I had to go over to Barnton today and couldn't resist stopping to photograph this derelict building which I spotted by the side of the River Weaver. I think it is part of the Tata Chemical Plant. The whole area seems to be going through massive development and I'm not entirely sure that this building is part of the complex. Although this building is derelict there seems to be other activity on the site. 

I took this picture from a road bridge which appears to split the plant in half. The area behind me has been sold off and is currently being re-developed as part of Winnington Urban Village. I'm not sure I would like to live on the site of an old chemical factory.

Tata Chemicals Europe was formerly known as Brunner Mond. The company was formed in 1873 when John Brunner and Ludwig Mond built the works at Winnington in Northwich. In 1926 Brunner Mond was one of the four main companies – along with British Dyestuffs Corporation, Nobel's Explosives Limited, and the United Alkali Company – which took part in the merger which created ICI. In 1991 Brunner Mond Holdings Limited was re-created by the break-off of the soda ash business from ICI. In 2006 Brunner Mond was purchased by Tata Holdings.

Its principal products are soda ash, sodium bicarbonate, calcium chloride and associated alkaline chemicals.

Incidentally that small tree or branch on the left is growing on top of a pipe. 

Thanks to TMLHereAndThere for hosting Derelict Sunday (my favourite Blip challenge)


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.