The Tiny Tiger Recovery Ward

Sunday was a wonderful day, but something bad happened that I didn't want to tell you about. My husband and I often take a few of our favorite creatures along on our outdoor adventures. You've met Alex and Little Bear on a few occasions, but you have not yet been introduced to my little buddy Antonio the Tiny Tiger. On Sunday, I took the tiny tiger along to Sproul State Forest, and when I got there, I realized he'd lost an eye! Oh no! Fortunately, I found the eye in the bag with the tiger.

And so we brought the patient home and put an eye patch on him (aka, a Hello Kitty band-aid), and let him rest up to gain his strength. For first thing Monday morning, the tiny tiger was scheduled to undergo eye surgery. (You may see a pre-op photo in the extras.)

I am happy to report that the tiny tiger eye surgery was successful, just a few stitches, and the eye is expected to have 100% recovery! The tiny tiger was initially nervous and a bit scared, but a red-shirted friend sat by him and whispered words of encouragement into his stripey tiger ears. (Is there anything sweeter in the face of adversity than the voice of a single true friend who stands by you? I think not.)

The tiny tiger spent the afternoon and evening in the tiny tiger recovery ward, with his good friend nearby and a tiny bunny band playing soothing lullabies, suitable for tiger recovery. (What else could one expect but bunnies on this very special LEAP-year day? Hmm?)

By bedtime, the tiger was well on his way to a full recovery. Because he was such a good and brave tiger, we gave him tiger treats before bed: peanut butter Do-Si-Dos Girl Scout cookies (hey, if Girl Scout cookies are good enough for Morgan and Leo, they're good enough for us!), washed down with hot cocoa loaded with tiny marshmallows.

The soundtrack is a tune to celebrate a very brave little tiger. Here is Sara Bareilles, with Brave. 

P.S. And I'm back later, adding another song for the tiny tiger! Thanks to my blip-friend Keith for this one, which is absolutely perfect:  Survivor, with Eye of the Tiger.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.