IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

St Peter, North Barningham

A relentlessly grey rainy morning eventually gave way to a brighter afternoon. I set off on a circuit of the local villages on my trusty iron horse and dismounted in North Barningham to photograph a bright blue plough left standing in a freshly ploughed field. To my right surrounded by trees stood a church I have often noted in passing but never visited. The entrance to it is a little obscure and on investigating I discovered that it is no longer a consecrated church but a monument in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. It is all the better for that. It's worn pink limewashed walls and plain wooden pews give it a remarkable integrity. Too soon I had to rush home for an appointment but I will go and visit again soon, it's a special place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.