Calder View Whalley

I got to Whalley a bit early for my hair appointment so decided to have a walk down to the weir on the river. I had seen that the river was very high as I drove along the bypass and when I got there the weir was a torrent. This lovely row of houses are all empty as they were flooded in the Boxing Day floods as are all the houses round the corner on the Main Street. There are still skips outside some houses and workmen inside all, its very sad. Years ago when we lived in Whalley we would walk along the river and down past this row of houses and I always wanted to live here. Simon always said they were too near the river. Whalley Abbey had the wall on the road smashed down by the river as well, the extra photo.
Hair is looking much better but I'm disappointed that it doesn't have the purple haze again, it seems Della used the wrong colour last time. Had a lovely pizza and catch up with Pat our usual Tuesday night after hair meal out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.